Midnight – Rebirth by Blasphemy Review

Band: Midnight
Album: Rebirth by Blasphemy
Label: Metal Blade Records
Genre: Black Metal, Speed Metal, Black-n-Roll
Country: US
Release Date: January 24th, 2020 FFO: Hellhammer, Gehennah, Nifelheim, Destroyer 666

Midnight, the solo-project of multi-instrumentalist Athenar, has become well known as a modern leader of Blackened Speed metal, with three previous studio albums and countless EP’s. Midnight has specifically made an impact in the live circuit, stealing the show at every gig they play, at times even from some of the biggest names in metal. “Rebirth by Blasphemy” is the fourth full length album by an underground favorite, and their first album on a major label after recently signing a deal with Metal Blade records. Will this new album keep the momentum going, or will the label change lead to a shift in sound?

Midnight once again proves the ability to write songs that sound great on an album while making you think at the same time, “I can’t wait to hear this one live”.The album opens with the ripper “Fucking Speed and Darkness”, a song title that aptly describes the Midnight sound, and immediately you know that you are in for another album of fun and blasphemy. The opening riff gets the head banging and you can almost see people jumping off of a stage. Track 3, entitled “Escape the Grave” would feel right at home on an earlier Motorhead record. Midnight has always proudly paid homage to the bands they take influence from and the song “Cursed Possessions” feels like “Screaming for Vengeance” era Judas Priest. Perhaps the standout song on the album is “Rising Scum” which slows in tempo and highlights songwriting as opposed to simply playing as fast as possible. The album is full of stand out songs and some of the “greatest” song titles that you will find in metal. Shit if a song title like “Devil’s Excrement” doesn’t put a smile on your face then you need to loosen up a bit. 

If there is a downside to this album, it lies in the fact that there is not much that truly sets this album apart from other Midnight albums. Outside of slightly improved mixing and production you could put the majority of these songs on any other album and they would be right at home. At times while listening to this album the urge to turn it off and put on the band’s previous album, “Satanic Royalty” had occurred, which is a praise for that album not necessarily a slight against this one. While there is an argument to be made for music to grow and evolve, metal has always been a genre that can continue to thrive on tradition and returning to old sounds. Athenar is a musician who writes music steeped in a throw back sound and consistency has always been the modus operandi for Midnight. 

Midnight are fan favorites for a reason and this album is sure to speak to any fan of their previous work. Despite not breaking any new ground,”Rebirth in Blasphemy” is another solid addition to the Midnight discography, with plenty of new songs to add to the already stellar live set. Athenar continues to show the world that he is at the top of the game of making fast, fun metal that is sure to get the pit going. The album is jam packed with fun songs with riffs and vocal hooks that are sure to be stuck in your head for days. This is a fucking great album, even if it may not be the first recommendation to someone who has never heard Midnight before.

Rating: 8/10


  1. Fucking Speed and Darkness
  2. Rebirth by Blasphemy
  3. Escape the Grave
  4. Devil’s Excrement
  5. Rising Scum
  6. Warning from the Reaper
  7. Cursed Possessions
  8. Raw Attack
  9. The Sounds of Hell
  10. You Can Drag Me Through the Fire

Total Playing Time: 33:47

Click here to visit Midnight’s Bandcamp.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *