Sepultura – Machine Messiah Review

Band: Sepultura
Album: Machine Messiah
Label: Nuclear Blast Records
Genre: Groove Metal, Thrash Metal
Country: Brazil
Release Date: January 13, 2017

Sepultura is a band that all Metalheads know and a band that has split the community in two sides. One side is the “Max and Igor are Sepultura” side and they refuse to acknowledge any album after Max Cavalera left and later, Igor Cavalera. The other side is on the Andres Kisser side and acknowledges all of their albums and still enjoy the albums made after both Cavalera brothers left. If you give a good listen to those post Max Cavalera albums, you’ll realize they’re not bad albums at all. Most Metalheads automatically dismiss them because they’re not like “Schizophrenia” or “Arise”, but if you really listen to those pose Cavalera albums, they’re good. Listening to those albums extensively has prepared me for the album I’m going to review today, which is Sepultura’s 14th album, “Machine Messiah”. The band traveled all the way to Sweden to work with Jens Bogren, who has worked with notable bands such as Kreator, Opeth, Soilwork, and Moonspell. Well Bogren’s magic rub off on Sepultura?

The album has an overwhelming theme of machines taking over humanity and almost borders on paranoia, but not to the point you’re putting on a tinfoil hat and looking up conspiracy theories on the Internet. Is the album worth listening to? Well, let’s get down to it.

“Machine Messiah” starts off with the title track, which is a slow song that has Derrick Green singing softly. The song does pick up and Derrick gets to his usual harsh vocals. For some reason, his vocals seem stronger on this album than the last one. The album kicks into full gear when the next song, “I Am the Enemy” comes on. It’s a fast paced song with guitar shredding, strong vocals and bone crunching riffs. It’s a short but powerful song.

The album shifts tempos again with “Phantom Self”, which has a progressive sound to it, and it’s heavy. Say what you want about Andres Kisser, but his guitar skill is superior and it shows on this song. Also, people always give Derrick hell for his weak vocals, but they’re not weak at all on this song, or throughout the entire album. “Alethea” is another progressive sounding song. It’s almost like Dream Sepultura sometimes with how progressive the album sounds. It’s not a bad thing though.

“Iceberg Dances” is an instrumental song that showcases the guitar wizardry of Andres and the drumming of Elroy Cassagrande. It’s his second album with the band and his drumming has definitely improved from the previous album. It also has the signature Sepultura “tribal acoustic” sound mixed with progressive elements. “Sworn Oath” is a mid tempo song with cinematic feel to it. Once again, Derrick Green’s harsh vocals are on point and powerful. They don’t sound as weak as they used to be.

“Resistant Parasites” is a groove sounding song and does how Sepultura is really mixing it up with each song. It’s a pleasant surprise. “Silent Violence” is one of those songs you crank up when you’re angry and it’s great.

“Vandals Nest” is a fast paced song that sounds Thrashier than the previous songs on the album. The album closes with “Cyber God”, a somber, mid tempo song which showcases Derrick Green’s vocal range.

I know most Metalheads will dismiss this album because many have dismissed the band after the Cavalera brothers left, but give this album a listen. You’ll be pleasantly surprised.

Rating: 7/10

1. Machine Messiah
2. I Am The Enemy
3. Phantom Self
4. Alethea
5. Iceberg Dances
6. Sworn Oath
7. Resistant Parasites
8. Silent Violence
9. Vandals Nest
10. Cyber God

Total Playing Time: 46:05



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *