Parkway Drive – Ire Review

Band: Parkway Drive
Album: Ire
Label: Resist/ Epitaph Records
Genre: Metalcore
Country: Australia
Release Date: September 25th, 2015



IRE is the fifth studio album for the band Parkway Drive since the album Atlas which was released in 2012. Formed in 2003, the band has definitely made a name for themselves in the metalcore scene having a loyal fan base in Australia gaining and notoriety all over the world. The band also has two associated acts which are: I Killed The Prom Queen and 50 Lions. Making up Parkway Drive are members Winston McCall (Lead Vocals), Jeff Ling (Lead vocals and Lead Guitar), Luke Kilpatrick (Rhythm Guitar), Jia O’Connor (Bass) and Ben Gordon (Drums). The band’s sound could be compared to other known bands such as: Bring Me The Horizon, As I Lay Dying, And In Flames. Although still in the metalcore genre, this album seems to have a more intense and harsh feel to it then albums previously released. Throughout the album there is definitely intense drumming and vocals with a mix of a few memorable guitar riffs thrown in. Some of the songs actually have more of an 80’s or 90’s hard rock scene feel then a hard core metal edge. The lyrics are what one would expect from any metalcore band. They are angry, confrontational, and hostile. Getting into the sound of the album it starts off with the first track Destroyer. The song starts out with a domineering feel, growling vocals, and a massive drum beat. The lyrics are hostile but understandable, but it does give me more of the older metal feels I spoke of earlier. Dying To Believe is the second track. And, there is nothing slow about the way this track at all. This is an in your face and rip out your gut track. This is also one of my favored tracks on the album. This song seems to be a perfect example of how Parkway Drive may be branching out to other genres. Vice Grip the third track has some very nice guitar riffs and is a little slower than the last song. It also is another track that has the old school rock sound. It’s definitely more guitar dominate hen previous tracks, but the harsh vocals keep it borderline metal sound. The next few songs you can expect the same, hostile lyrics, intense drumming, and a decent guitar riffs thrown in the mix. Actually it started to have a Rage Against The Machine sound coming out quite a bit to me maybe in a more angry way but I definitely felt similarities. The Sound of Violence track number 8 is another of my favored tracks on the album. Its fast, it’s angry and it’s intense, everything I look for in a song. Although track 10 Dedicated is my most favored track on the album. This song starts out strong, has so much energy, and shows the bands future potential. It was actually one of the redeeming tracks that helped bring my rating up. The album ends on a slower note with an aggressive sounding love song. Great guitar solos and screaming lyrics make it a nice song but kind of depressing. All in all if you are into metalcore this album is going to be on your shelf. It was a nice step up for the band from their previous releases. But, it just didn’t have the metal sound I look for and left me with more of a hard rock feel.

Rating: 7/10

1. Destroyer
2. Dying To Believe
3. Vice Grip
4. Crushed
5. Fractures
6. Writings On The Wall
7. Bottom Feeder
8. The Sound Of Violence
9. Vicious
10. Dedicated
11. A Deathless Song

Total Playing Time: 48:02

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *