Cavalera Conspiracy – Pandemonium Review

Band: Cavalera Conspiracy
Album: Pandemonium
Label: Nuclear Blast
Genre : Thrash/Death Metal
Country: Brazil/USA
Release Date: October 31, 2014


Max Cavalera has been a busy man in the span of a year.  First, he released “Savages” from his band Soulfly in late 2013.  Then, he released an album with the supergroup, Killer Be Killed earlier this year.  Now, the Cavalera brothers are back together to bring their mayhem on their third release, “Pandemonium”.

We all have heard and know about the age old “Sepultura is no longer Sepultura” and that argument won’t be repeated here but it’s always great when the Cavalera brothers unite to make an album.  Let’s get to the music.

The album starts off with brief intro and then all hell breaks loose with the first riff of “Babylonian Pandemonium”.  It’s heavy, fast, and just a taste of the velocity that’s to come.  Mark Rizzo is a guitar God with the ridiculous shredding he does throughout the song and the deep throated vocals of Max Cavalera are the icing on the cake.

The album continues on with its relentless brutality with the second song, “Banzai Kamikaze”, which is even faster and heavier.  It’s definitely a mosh pit song that makes you headbang like a madman.   Have I said I love it when the Cavalera brothers come together?  Yes I did, but it bears repeating.  I love it when the Cavalera brothers come together.

Then next up is “Scum”, which is somewhat simpler but still heavy and relentless.  It’s like Cavalera Conspiracy are on a mission to assault you with venomous riffs and pounding drums.  It’s beautiful.

On “I, Barbarian”, Max Cavalera continues on his mission to be as heavy as possible, with Mark Rizzo once again displaying his shredding skills as Igor drums as if his life depends on it.

“Cramunhão” is another gem on this album, which is as relentless, fast and brutal as the previous songs.  Every member of the band blends together and just deliver with maximum force.  “Apex Predator” is in that same vein, as Igor Cavalera and Mark Rizzo showcase their brilliance.

The remainder of the songs on the album are brilliant, but predictable, especially when it comes to the songwriting.

Overall, the album is great, but not perfect.  It’s always awesome to hear the Cavalera brothers together as one and Mark Rizzo is brilliant throughout the entire album.  This is an album that will resonate with you long after you listen to it.  You’ll still be hearing the opening riffs to “Babylonian Pandemonium” or “I, Barbarian.”  Max Cavalera proves that he hasn’t lost his edge after all these years and he’s as brutal and heavy as he’s always been.

Overall Rating: 7/10


01. Babylonian Pandemonium
02. Banzai Kamikaze
03. Scum
04. I, Barbarian
05. Cramunhao
06. Apex Predator
07. Insurrection
08. Not Losing the Edge
09. Father of Hate
10. The Crucible
11. Deus Ex Machina
12. Porra

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *