August Burns Red – Found In Far Away Places Review

Band: August Burns Red
Album: Found In Far Away Places
Label: Fearless Records
Genre: Metalcore/ Thrash/New Metal
From: Pennsylvania, USA
Release Date: June 30th, 2015




August Burns Red is a christian metal band from Manheim, Pennsylvania. They actually recorded their first demo when most of them were in their senior year of high school. Since then they have released 6 full length albums Found In Far Away Places being their 7th, and have built quite a following touring. The Vans Warped Tour being current.

The band is made up of some pretty talented musicians starting with Jake Luhrs on lead vocals, JB Brubaker, (lead guitar) Dustin Davidson, (bass guitar and backing vocals) Brent Rambler, (rhythm guitarist) and Matt Greiner (piano and Drums).

Despite the fact they are a christian rock band, it absolutely is not something that their music or lyrics would reflect. Their lyrics are definitely aggressive, intense and confrontational, but at a level where most music fans will be able to relate to. The newest album, Found In Far Away Places was put out by Fearless Records, which is an alternative/rock orientated record label out of Culver City California. Their last album Rescue And Restore was released in June of 2013 under the label Solid State and peaked at number 9 on the Billboard Top 200 Christian Album Charts.

In my opinion Found In Far Away Places is their best album yet to date. The album is extremely hard core from start to finish. The first track on this album is called The Wake. Within the first 10 seconds any bias feelings you may have about christian metal will be forgotten fast. Starting with hardcore guttural vocals on this track and some amazing guitar riffs that will make you want more. The second track Martyr makes me think thrash way more then metalcore. It does slow down about a minute in, to a slower and more harmonies interlude, in fact most of the tracks on this album do but the solo’s are very melodic and after each solo this band brings it right back to speed with demanding vocals and thundering drums. Through out this album the guitar riffs are so memorizing they stick with you long after the album is over. My favorite track on this album would have to be Everlasting Ending. Its probably one of the more drum dominate tracks but the guitars are not lacking in any way in fact they remind me of some of the more accomplished metal guitarists today. And also to note, the track Ghosts also features Jeremy Mckinnon (A Day To Remember). On the deluxe version of this album the track Marathon is an amazing track so it is a song to check out even if you purchase the standard album. I really liked this album as a whole and I would say regardless of your preferred genre, it is worth taking the time to listen to it.

Rating: 8/10

1. The Wake
2. Martyr
3. Identity
4. Separating The Seas
5. Ghosts
6. Majoring In The Minors
7. Everlasting Ending
8. Broken Promises
9. Blackwood
10. Twenty-One Grams
11. VanGuard

Total Playing Time: 52:21

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *